read description
The United Republic of Tanzania is a country in East Africa in the African Great Lakes region. Tanganyika and Zanzibar merged on 26 April 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar. On 29 October of the same year, the country was renamed United Republic of Tanzania. The main sight of this African country is national parks with virgin nature. Tanzania is mountainous and densely forested in the northeast, where Mount Kilimanjaro is situated. Three of Africa's Great Lakes are partly within Tanzania. To the north and west lie Lake Victoria, Africa's largest lake, and Lake Tanganyika, the continent's deepest lake, known for its unique species of fish. To the southwest lies Lake Nyasa.